top of page
  • Writer's pictureRyan "Shrek" Marion

M.I.A.: Heaven's Basement

On October 26th, 2013 I drove to the UCF Arena in Orlando, Florida. I was there to attend Alice Cooper's Halloweenie Roast, a concert with bands like Papa Roach, Pop Evil, and Bullet For My Valentine. After standing in line and finally getting to my seat, I waited for the show to start. The lights dimmed and the first act came out to perform, some band from the U.K. that no one there knew. They played a 45 minute set and by the end, the whole arena was on its feet. That band was Heaven's Basement. After I left the venue, I couldn’t stop thinking how they went out and killed their set when no one cheered when they came out. I bought their album Filthy Empire that was released earlier that year soon after seeing them; every song was as full of energy as they were on stage. Soon after they released a series of music videos, then went silent. No new music, no new tour dates, nothing.


A couple years later, I was scrolling through Facebook and saw a post from the band's page, I was instantly excited. Thinking they were about to drop a new album or at least some new single, I dove into the post. As I started to read I became confused, they were promoting some other band. Why would they do that but not update for new music of their own? I started to search for answers, I went to their website and found nothing. It hadn't been updated at all, and still hasn’t to this day. Discovering this lack of information, I decided to investigate further.


Heaven's Basement formed in 2008 and they signed with Red Bull Records and was a hard rock band from the UK that was known for energetic live performances and heavy tour schedules. Their first studio album, Filthy Empire, was released February 4, 2013 and was met with excellent reviews. The album contained the single Fire, Fire which peaked at number 11 on the U.S. Mainstream Rock Chart.



Aaron Buchanan was the lead singer from 2011 to 2015
Aaron Buchanan


On October 21, 2015, the band's front man Aaron Buchanan parted ways with the band. They posted the following statement on their social media accounts:

"We've all had a fantastic few years touring the world with Filthy Empire but we simply feel that our time together has run its course."

Buchanan later went on to form another band called Aaron Buchanan & The Cult Classics in April 2016.

In January of 2017, the remaining three members decided it was best for the band to split. Two of them went on to form the band The Cruel Knives with Tom Harris and Al Junior.


I've taken the time to listen to these two bands that have formed from the members of Heaven's Basement and I cant say that I like them. The energy just isn't there for me and they are in no way close to the same sound Heaven's Basement brought us. It kind of breaks my heart knowing one of my favorite bands was pretty much a one hit wonder. I feel as if they had so much potential and could have went on to be a massive statement in the rock genre as we know it. The energy they had on stage was similar to that of Nothing More, just non stop from the beginning of their set till the very end.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page