top of page
  • Writer's pictureRyan "Shrek" Marion

I Prevail: Trauma Review

I Prevail released their newest album Trauma on March 29, 2019, with 13 new songs running just over 40 minutes. This album isn't what I expected when I heard the 3 tracks (Bow Down, Breaking Down, & Paranoid) they released prior to the album, but not in a bad way. There are some genre mixing that happens in a couple of the songs. One track called Rise Above It, features hip-hop/rap artist Justin Stone, it also has some dub step thrown in. Its different, but not bad. To me, the entire album covers a few topics ranging from depression to using your enemies as a push to do better. Over all it’s a moving and inspiring album to say the least. The track Goodbye (Interlude) speaks to me on an emotional level. For myself, the song is about losing a parent or someone important to you and not being able to move on and finish grieving, or as the track puts it "I keep open doors that need closing". The lyrics go on to say "It's done nothing but let the cold in" saying that not being able to move forward past the tragedy of losing the person, make things just more difficult in the long run. I could go on to break down every lyric of every song but ill leave that for a different article another time. I really enjoy the album as a whole and would highly recommend anyone to give it a listen through at least once.


Trauma makes the bands second studio album since they gained popularity in 2014 when they posted a cover of Taylor Swift's Blank Space on YouTube. Their first EP released on January 26, 2015 followed by their first studio album which debuted on October 21, 2016.


I Prevail will be heading out on tour with Issues and Justin Stone on April 24 of this year. The Thrashing Orc will be attending the show when they stop in Orlando, Florida on August 3 at the House of Blues.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page